Children’s Books on a Dime

A little while back, I decided to start writing children’s stories.  I have always liked writing, was a French lit major in college, and now I have three little girls who love to read.  So I thought, what better way to touch their hearts, teach them something, and give them a bit of myself to always have with them than to write some stories and hopefully get a few published someday?  So I started writing.

Soon I realized that writing a really good story is hard.  Of course, right?  Everyone knows that if you want to be a good writer, you have to be a good reader.  I know a lot of classic children’s stories and I read lots of picture books with my kids, but I have come to realize that I am startlingly unfamiliar with most of the newer books out there, and there are lots and lots of really good ones.  So I am starting this children’s book review blog to broaden my horizons and generously share my findings.

The one problem with my brilliant plan is that my husband just started working on his Master’s degree, which means that for the next three years, we are living on a pretty tight budget.  There’s not much extra money for buying hundreds of books each month.  So this blog is Children’s Books on a Dime, books that I can get for under a dollar.  My primary sources will be the Monterey Public Library and iBooks.  The choice to do iBooks is partly due to the very recent availability of the iBooks software for desktop computers.  Up until now, it has only been available for iPad and other mobile devices.  There are lots of kid’s books on iBooks that you can get for free or very cheap, but a new iPad is definitely not in my budget.  Now that I can read them with my kids on our desktop, I’m super excited to find out what’s in there.

So that’s the story of this blog.  I hope you like it, I hope you like reading some of the books I tell you about with your kids, and I hope someday I’ll be able to afford to pay for my books.  Here’s hoping, and happy reading!

Sincerely, Kathryn M. Cunningham

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Children’s Books on a Dime

  1. DeLynn Cunningham says:

    I am very excited to read your work.

Leave a Reply

