Our Daddy is Invincible, by Shannon Maxwell, illustrated by Liza Biggers

UnknownA brother and a sister love their daddy and think of him as a superhero.  This helps them to not worry about him when he deploys to far away lands to fight supervillains.  But one day those villains manage to penetrate his defenses, and he comes home to fight a different battle, one of recovery.  The siblings learn that they haven’t lost their superdad.  He and many other wounded warriors love their families with superhuman force and find amazing new adventures to fill this new chapter of their lives.

Here is another one in honor of Veteran’s Day coming up.  This is a great book for kids coping with a parent who has been injured.  It is definitely targeted at military children, but I think it would be helpful for any child whose parent’s injury is sudden and life-changing.  It is written by the wife of a wounded warrior, and there is a touching personal statement from one of her children at the beginning of the book.  Even though this story is about one family’s experience, it does a good job of creating a feeling of community and inclusion through the illustrations.  My favorite, favorite part of this book is the end pages, with photographs and personal stories of real life families with parents dealing with disability.  Nothing helps kids cope better than knowing that others are going through the same thing they are.  The only caveat to my enthusiastic recommendation of this book would be that it is, in my opinion, for kids that are a little bit older.  I don’t feel that it would be as effective for kids under 6 or so.

My wonderful husband found this book online for free here.

Operation We Are Here has a list of more books and resources aimed at helping military families cope with injury and trauma.

Goodreads also has a great list of books for military kids.

 

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Online Books, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

