Veteran’s Day

Vet Day As you may or may not know, my husband is a disabled veteran, which is why I am making a big deal out of this holiday even though it’s just one day and he doesn’t even get the day off from school for it.  My husband’s disabilities are all pretty invisible.  He doesn’t have big scars, he’s not an amputee, he doesn’t always walk with a limp or have some kind of pained expression on his face.  In fact, in his 8 years of service he never even deployed.  But his time in the Army took a toll on his body and soul that will endure his entire life, as it does with every single person who serves.  The cost of war is measured not only in lives lost, but in what is taken from those who survive.  Let’s teach our children to honor those who have made this sacrifice to protect our freedom.  Let’s live in a way that will make our homes, cities, country, and the world peaceful, that war will no longer have a place here.

Here are some places to find poems, short stories, activities, crafts and pictures to share with children on Veteran’s Day:

VA Kids

Veteran’s Day Activties

Military.com

Enchanted Learning

Scholastic.com

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

