How Big Could Your Pumpkin Grow? by Wendell Minor

small_how_big_can_your_pumpkin_grow_frontPumpkins, pumpkins everywhere, and most of them are gigantic and awesome.  From the carved-out pumpkin boat races in Vermont to the hot air balloon fiesta in New Mexico to the world’s tallest roller coaster in New Jersey, pumpkins lead you on a guided tour of some of the country’s finest tourist destinations.  Imagine a pumpkin spanning the Grand Canyon, a pumpkin oil shark in Texas, or a pumpkin helping guide ships to safety with the lighthouses in North Carolina.  You’ll find it all in this adorable picture book.

Author/illustrators are so amazing!  I don’t know if an author could have sold this book on their own, but Mr. Wendell Minor did a great job making kind of a bizarre idea work really well.  My kids all loved the pictures, especially the ones of the New Mexico balloon fiesta and the Grand Canyon, because they’ve been to those places and thought it was so silly to imagine having giant pumpkins there.  My favorite part was, in a boring grown-up way, the end pages, where all the actual tourist sites and events are briefly described.  I was especially overjoyed to discover that there is a real live place in Vermont where they carve out gigantic pumpkins, use them as boats, and race them.  My husband immediately looked it up and found a video of it on You Tube and we all watched it together and had a great family time.  I now have a new item on my bucket list- anyone want to help me grow a 2,000 pound pumpkin?

Read this book for free on We Give Books.  You have to make an account with a username and password, but that is free and I have never gotten annoying emails from them.

Visit Wendell Minor’s website.

See a video of a giant pumpkin boat race, known as a pumpkin regatta, it’s awesome.

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Online Books, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

