Adventures of Three Sisters, Chapter 2, by Kathryn Cunningham

In case anyone has forgotten, this is chapter 2 of a story that I have written.  I am working to get it ready to publish on iBooks with illustrations by my oldest daughter.  Please take a look and tell me what you like, and, more importantly, what you think needs work.

ADVENTURES OF THREE SISTERS- PIRATE ADVENTURE                                          by Kathryn Cunningham

Chapter 2- Shark Attack

The ship rocked as the wind filled the sails and the waves heaved about them.  The sisters breathed in the wet, salty air and scanned the horizon in search of clues that would lead them to the Lost Treasure.  They were also on the lookout for dangers that would surely meet them out on the open sea.

“Captain!” called out Cook Margaret from below.  “What are we going to eat?  I’m hungry for a snack.”  (Margaret had a hard time talking like a pirate.  She was the youngest, after all.)

The sisters all looked at each other for a while.  They had been so excited to get going, they had forgotten to bring food.  Now they were in the middle of the ocean, and it was too late to go back for provisions.  First Mate Macaylie started to cry, but Abigail was smart, and she thought of a plan quicker than you can say ‘Jolly Roger.’

“What be ye, a pack of sniveling land lubbers?” she barked.  “Thar be fish in these waters!  Get the nets, throw ‘em into the sea!  We’ll have fish for supper or I’ll be swashbuckled!”

The sisters scurried to find the fishing nets and push them over the side of the ship.  The water was indeed teeming with fish, and the nets were soon overflowing.

“Shiver me timbers, the nets!” wailed the Captain in despair. “They’ll break for sure and we’ll have nothin’ but empty bellies for company all the way to Davy Jone’s locker!”

Cook Margaret threw up her hands and howled, but Macaylie was strong.  She grabbed hold of the nets and heaved and pulled with all her might until she hauled every last one of those tasty fish aboard their ship.

Unfortunately, a gigantic man-eating shark had also been hauled up with the fish.  It thrashed around angrily on the deck, snapping its powerful jaws fiercely at the pirates.  First Mate Macaylie scrambled up into the crow’s nest to hide, Captain Abigail retreated behind the helm in terror, but Margaret was brave.  Skillfully, she whipped out her pirate’s sword and her Cook’s knife, and with a slash and skewer, chopped that whole shark up into bite-sized pieces.

“We’ll eat shark soup tonight, mateys!” she called triumphantly.  Then she pulled the teeth right out of the shark’s mouth, strung them on a cord and wore them as a necklace the rest of their voyage.

Cleaning and storing all those fish and shark bits took a long time, and it was dark before they were finished and enjoying bowls of delicious shark soup.  First Mate Macaylie closed her eyes contentedly as the warm broth travelled down her throat and into her belly, warming every bit of her.  Captain Abigail told blood-curdling tales of sword fighting, plundering, and sailing the high seas. Cook Margaret leaned her head back and sighed in wonder at the billions of stars in an endless expanse of sky.

“To bed, me hearties!” ordered Captain Abigail.  “I’ll take the first watch.”

“Aye, aye, Cap’n!” they replied, and went to their rooms.

And so they slept as the sea rocked their ship like a cradle, taking turns on look-out duty in case a giant squid or rival pirate ship tried to attack them.  When the sun peeked over the rim of the ocean, the sisters were up and ready for adventure.  It was not long before adventure found them.

 

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in My Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

