The Best Hanukkah Ever, by Barbara Diamond Goldin, illustrated by Avi Katz

imagesWhen the Knoodle family sets out to give the perfect Hanukkah gifts, something goes terribly awry.  The menorah is lovely, the singing is delightful, and the potato pancakes are delicious, but the presents are all wrong.  Papa Jack gets a flowery sun hat, big sister Shayna gets a box full of tree frogs, and little brother Yekl gets a pickle barrel.  Nobody can figure out what happened, but everyone agrees that Hanukkah is ruined.  Their only hope is some last minute advice by their rabbi.  See how the Knoodles save Hanukkah and learn how to give the perfect gift in The Best Hanukkah Ever.

I will begin by saying that this was not my favorite holiday book.  My favorites are usually the ones that leave you crying at the end or have some super deep message with complicated symbolism.  My kids, on the other hand, thought that this book was awesome.  First of all, it’s about a family called the Knoodles.  And let me be clear, you MUST pronounce the K separately or you have ruined the whole book.  The other names are great too, especially Yekl and Bubby Sadi (who is the grandma).  Who hasn’t wanted to call their grandma Bubby every now and then?  There is just a smattering of cultural information for the Christian kids who might be reading, and then the present mix-up which is light and silly.  Finish it all up and a clear and relevant holiday message (think of the receiver when you give a gift, not yourself) and it’s bedtime magic.

See if this book is at your public library at World Cat.

Find out more about award-winning author Barbara Diamond Goldin.

Avi Katz also has a website about her illustrating career.

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Library Books, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

