Orwell’s Christmas Robot, by Jessica R. Engle

UnknownOrwell the dragon has one Christmas wish: a robot to be his new best friend.  Sure, Fluff Monsieur the cat has been a pretty good best friend up until now, but Orwell feels that it’s time for an upgrade, and Santa will be sure to bring it.  Who knew how important it would be to spell his Christmas wish correctly in his letter to Santa?  In the silly mix up and ultimate resolution of that eventful Christmas morning, Orwell learns the value of true friendship “that is learned and earned, not bought or brought.”

Merry Christmas, everybody!  I love, love, LOVE this time of year, and especially the stories that go along with it.  I read this story with my kids tonight, and we all liked different things about it.  My favorite thing about it is the illustrations.  Lots of the free iBooks have very generic, computerized, impersonal illustrations, I assume because they are done by authors who want to publish their own work but save the expense of hiring a professional illustrator.  Jessica R. Engle is the author and illustrator of this book, and the difference in how the story feels because of the quality of the pictures cannot be overstated.  My two year old, Margaret, liked the cat in the story.  She really likes cats, and this one wears a monocle and plays solitaire, so what’s not to like?  Macaylie, my four year old, liked the little picture of at the end of the book that said “not the end” where normal books usually state the opposite.  Little thoughtful funny things like that make picture books so much more engaging and memorable for kids and parents.  Abigail is seven and she liked the spelling error in the story because it made her feel smart to have seen it ahead of time and understood the mix-up right away.  It’s a fun story, and I thank Ms. Jessica for offering it to us for free this holiday season!

Learn all about Orwell the dragon and al his adventures at his website.

Read this books for free on iBooks.

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in iBooks, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

