Rocking Horse Christmas, by Mary Pope Osborne, illustrated by Ned Bittinger

UnknownWhen a boy finds a rocking horse under the tree one Christmas, a magical friendship is born.  The boy and his horse share many wonderful adventures, but as the boy grows up, the horse grows neglected and lonely.  He faithfully waits for the day his boy will return to him, but the years grow long and his spirits fade.  Finally a storm blows in the window of the attic where the horse has waited so long, and his boy, now a man, returns to him.  Through all the long years, the magic of their friendship has survived and the old horse finds new life and new adventures with the newest generation of his family.

Merry merry Christmas!  I love, love, LOVE this season!  Reading this story made me feel like I was back in my mom’s rocking chair reading Velveteen Rabbit.  Although in real life, I am not the kind of person to hold onto…. anything, really, I love the spirit of these stories where the spirit of childhood and the magic of belief are preserved through a special toy.  It makes all the present giving and getting of our increasingly materialistic Christmas season take on a little more heart.  The point of presents at Christmas time is not the accumulation of stuff, but the formation of those magical friendships that transcend the “stuff.”  This is a story that reminds us not just to give stuff, but to allow our children to create real magic in their play.  Oh, and the illustrations are AMAZING!

To find out if this book is at your public library, visit World Cat.

Mary Pope Osborne has a great website.

Learn more about painter Ned Bittinger on his website.

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Library Books, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rocking Horse Christmas, by Mary Pope Osborne, illustrated by Ned Bittinger

Leave a Reply

