Adventures of Three Sisters, Chapter 4, by Kathryn Cunningham

For those who are new, this is chapter 4 of a story I’m working on publishing with illustrations by my oldest daughter.  I’m trying to get as much feedback as I can before put it out there, so please, tell me what you think, good and bad.  If you want to start from the beginning, I have a separate tab for it up top.  Happy reading!

ADVENTURES OF THREE SISTERS- PIRATE ADVENTURE                                        by Kathryn Cunningham

Chapter 4- Stormy Seas

All the pirates returned to their ship and continued their journey through the graveyard.  Soon they were through, and searching the horizon intently for any sign of the island where they would find the Lost Treasure.  They were positive that they were almost there.

“Let’s have some music, ye swarthy knaves!” bellowed Captain Abigail.  “We’ll sing us a tune to speed the ship along!”  They sang loudly and heartily, as pirates should, their good spirits swelling their song and carrying it on the wind to the dolphins and the jellyfish.

“Hey ho, blow me down,

Toss me on the sea!

On a pirate ship

Adventure waits for me!”

Suddenly, the clear blue sky filled with billowing black clouds and the world went dark.  Torrents of rain poured down, and lightening flashed like a spear piercing the gloom.  A raging wind whipped at the sails and tossed the ship to and fro on the waves like a toy.  The whole boat shuddered and creaked and Cook Margaret went below to make sure everything was secure in the galley.

Half a heart beat later, Cook Margaret raced back up screaming, “There’s a leak in the hull!  She’s going down, abandon ship!”

“We’re all bound for Davy Jones’ locker!” wailed Captain Abigail.  “Save yourselves, mates!  As Captain, it be my duty to go down with the ship.”

But Macaylie was strong.  As the ship began to sink into the sea, she said, “I know what my magical power is!  Captain, go below and fix the leak, I’ll keep the ship afloat!”  With that, she dove into the ocean and started breathing underwater.

A few dolphin kicks later, and she was under the ship.  She placed her hands on the underside of the boat, pushed up with her strong arms, kicked hard with her strong legs, and kept the ship from sinking.  Meanwhile, Captain Abigail fixed the leak and Cook Margaret lugged buckets of water out of the hold.  Together, they saved the ship.

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in My Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

