Llama Llama Holiday Drama, by Anna Dewdney

UnknownChristmas is coming soon, and it is a busy, busy time when little llama just has to hurry up and wait.  With all the shopping, baking, decorating, and present making, this little llama is overwhelmed by how much there is to do, and by how long the waiting seems to last.  How many days until Christmas?  Is it all really worth it for just one day?  Can’t we just have the presents now?  Mama llama reminds her little one, and all of us, that sometimes, to avoid all that holidrama, we need to take a break and just snuggle the ones that we love and remember the special peace that is the real spirit of Christmas.

I read this book for free on We Give Books, which, if you don’t know, is a fantastic website that donates books to the needy around the world when people read the books they put out online.  If you haven’t already, go set up an account and start reading!  One of the great things about this site is that it gives me a chance to test drive some newer books that I normally wouldn’t get, like this one.  To be honest, I am not a fan of little Llama llama.  That kid is a big brat in some of those books, and it gives me an ulcer just thinking about my kids starting to emulate his behavior.  However, the writing is always good, and the illustrations are fun and very personable, if that makes sense.  And this book I really like.  I have really enjoyed the ‘simplify your Christmas’ movement that I’ve seen going around cyberspace this year, and this book gives a really good kid perspective of holiday craziness and reasons to take a breath and just be with each other sometimes.  I love the picture of the little llama when he has his holidrama breakdown.  He’s sprawled out on the floor and his crazy eyes are rolling around in his head and it just looks exactly like what it feels like to be a kid who is trying so hard to be good but who has had enough!  It’s a great read, and a great reminder to all of us that sometimes we need to reprioritize our parenting and do less stuff.  As my father used to say, people are more important than things.  Indeed they are.

Read this book for free on We Give Books.

Learn more about Anna Dewdney and her work at her website.

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Online Books, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

