Marvin K. Mooney Will You Please Go Now! by Dr. Seuss

Unknown“The time has come.  The time is now.  Marvin K. Mooney, I don’t care how.  Marvin K. Mooney, will you please go now!”  Crunk-Car, stilts, skis, lion’s tail, Ga-Zoom, all these are acceptable modes of transportation.  The point, really, is that it’s time to go.  RIGHT NOW!  “I said GO and GO I meant… The time had come.  SO… Marvin WENT.”

So, there’s not much to write in a synopsis of a story like this.  But that’s one of the things I like most about this Dr. Seuss story as a parent.  I am to the point where I cringe when my daughters pull out “Green Eggs and Ham” as their bedtime story pick because it’s just so long!  One of the really unique things about Dr. Seuss was that he wrote these stories like “Cat in the Hat” that were designed for beginning readers that were over 50 pages long.  So awesome!  But I fall asleep in the middle of those monster picture books every time, even with skipping over about half the words.  “Marvin K. Mooney” is clever and engaging and (wait for it) manageable.  I can make it through this one with my eyes still open every night of the week.  And I love the images of Marvin skipping home in a shoe, riding on a fish, stuffing himself in a mail bag, and lounging in his Zumble-Zay just as much as my daughters.  Awesome.

To find out if this book is at your public library, visit World Cat.

Visit this website to find out more about Dr. Seuss and his books.

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Library Books, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

