A Sick Day for Amos McGee, by Philip C. Stead, illustrated by Erin E. Stead

UnknownAmos McGee is just about the nicest guy and the best zoo keeper around.  He takes extra special care of all his friends- chess with contemplative elephant, footraces with the speedy tortoise, and bedtime stories for the owl who is afraid of the dark.  But one morning Amos wakes up with sniffles, sneezes, and aches all over, and he just has to go back to bed.  When his animal friends realize that Amos will not be coming to the zoo to take care of them, they decide to make a special trip out to his house to take care of him.  Together they nurse their friend back to health, taking care of him just like he does for them, and end their day with a lovely pot of tea and a bedtime story by the owl.

Charming.  Charming is the perfect word to describe this story.  I love gentle, tender Amos who takes such good care of all his quirky zoo friends.  I love that he eats oatmeal for breakfast and calls in sick when he’s got the flu.  I love that the animals all take the bus over to his tiny house, even though there is no way my imagination can find a way for that elephant to get through those tiny bus doors.  And I love that the shy penguin sits on Amos’ feet to keep them warm while he takes a nap.  This book is the work of husband-wife team Philip C. Stead and Erin E. Stead, and the way the illustrations meld so perfectly with the spirit of the story makes it feel very appropriate that it be the work of two people who are so closely connected.  I love this charming, charming story, and my kids loved it too.  It is perfect bedtime material.

To find out of this book is at your public library, visit World Cat.

Visit their websites to find more about author/illustrator team Philip C. Stead and Erin E. Stead.

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Library Books, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Sick Day for Amos McGee, by Philip C. Stead, illustrated by Erin E. Stead

  1. erikaviktor says:

    Nice review!

Leave a Reply

