The Adventures of Piñata and Tortilla, by Phillip Orozco

UnknownIn the life of a piñata, it’s pretty hard to avoid candy-crazed kids with sticks trying to beat the bejeebers out of you.  Sometimes the only option for a poor piñata is to climb a tall tree and hide out for the day, except that then you are stuck.  This is what had happened to poor Piñata on the day that Tortilla took his Tuesday hike down the trail toward the stream and heard someone calling for help.  Luckily for Piñata, Tortilla was both helpful and innovative, and with a little bit of help from a friendly puff of cotton candy, everyone ended up safe and sound on the ground.  Best of all, Piñata learned that not everyone in the world is only interested in busting him open to gobble his candy insides.  Some people are generous and kind, and even a piñata can find a true friend.

Happy Cinco de Mayo everybody!  I know this story doesn’t really have anything to do with true Mexican culture, but I am grateful to the Mexican influences on our American culture that have brought us tortillas and piñatas, without which this story would not be possible.  It would have had to be the adventures of bear and pig or something equally generic, and would have not have had a fraction of the entertainment value.  I wish you could hear my second daughters deep, throaty pirate laugh when she sees the tortilla walking around in jeans or wrapping himself around the cotton candy.  It’s pretty priceless.  As my husband says, it’s no masterpiece, but it is entertaining for kids.  And as long as you make sure your kids know that real piñatas are not alive and it’s ok to whack them with sticks, it’s a nice little story that teaches about friendship.  My kids had fun with it, I hope yours do, too.

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in iBooks, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

