Our New Baby, DK First Steps

UnknownWhen a family of 3 becomes a family of 4, there are a lot of adjustments to be made, and it’s easy for a child to become overwhelmed by the changes to their little world.  Our New Baby is a great little book all about helping children accept and embrace those changes.  There are great color photographs, straightforward but engaging text narrated in the child’s voice, and some of the captions to the photos are in fun fonts and positioned on the page to look more playful and interesting.  It is a great resource for parents looking to help their first child get ready to welcome their second.

I read this book with my girls via We Give Books, an excellent online source of free books.  The greatest part about this website is that the more people read books on their site, the more books they donate around the world to promote literacy in underprivileged areas.    I almost never review books like Our New Baby, mostly because books geared at kids age 0-3 are very short and very basic.  You try to write a summary of them and you’ve written more text than is in the book itself.    I chose this book for two reasons.  First of all, we are welcoming a new baby in just 2 months and my girls are feeling a little baby crazy.  They picked this book out of all the ones we scanned through on the website and insisted that it was the one.  Who am I to argue with a 3 and 4 year old?  The second reason is that I wanted to highlight the great selection of nonfiction books for all ages that are available on We Give Books.  More and more children’s book authors are choosing to specialize in nonfiction and are doing a great job of educating kids about all sorts of subjects in engaging, interesting, and creative ways.  It is a great new age for promoting learning at an early age about science, history, architecture, culture, all kinds of this.  And a source like We Give Books makes it easy to browse a wide variety of subjects and authors without having to hike out to the library or invest money and bookshelf space in something you’re not sure is going to float your kids’ boat.

To read Our New Baby and lots of other great fiction and nonfiction books for free, visit We Give Bookscreate a free account, and get going!

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Online Books, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

