My Blue Bunny Bubbit, by Maggie Smith

UnknownThere’s nothing like having a special friend who is almost exactly your age, who understands everything you are thinking and feeling, who has great ideas, is stuffed with kisses, and is perfect for snuggling up with at bedtime.  It’s even better if he was a gift made by your Grandma Nonni, who can sew anything.  For one little girl, her blue bunny, Bubbit is all this and more.  And when her parents tell her that a new baby is coming to her family soon, Bubbit knows just how she feels.  Together they worry, then get excited, then help prepare, until the big day arrives and Grandma Nonni comes to stay while everyone else goes to the hospital.  Of course, it’s Bubbit who has the idea to make a surprise for the new baby, but it’s the little girl and her Nonni who plan, cut, sew, and fill it with kisses.

My girls love this story.  I think all little girls have a sense that there is something special about their stuffed animals, that they feel and speak in ways that their other toys can’t.  Even though my girls’ stuffed animals don’t get played with as much as the Legos or the ponies, there is always weeping and wailing if I suggest thinning out their collection.  This story really speaks to their belief that those stuffed animals are not just things, they are their friends, they are understanding and comforting and encouraging.  (My husband does not understand this at all, but he has never been a little girl, after all.)  I love that the little girl in the story wants to give her new brother that same kind of friend.  For her, it really is the most special and powerful gift she could give him, and it shows that she’s developed a real empathy for him as a person who feels and needs like her.  It’s an important shift in perspective for new siblings.

Another thing I like about this book is the celebration of doing things by hand, of really giving something from the heart that you created from scratch.  These days, grandmas like Nonni, who can look at a picture, create a pattern, and whip up a stuffed elephant in a day, are pretty rare.  I know they exist, I just don’t know where to find them.  Most of us don’t have them in our family.  Even my mother, who makes my daughters look like expensive renaissance princesses for Halloween, wouldn’t attempt a stuffed elephant modeled after a picture on the wall.  But in a world where we can find just about whatever we want pre-made at the click of a button, it’s nice to stop and remember that the amount of yourself that you put into a gift adds more to its value than anything else.

To find out if this book at your public library, visit World Cat.

Maggie Smith also has a great website.  (She’s not the same Maggie Smith as the actress, by the way, just in case you were curious.  I know I was.)

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Library Books, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Blue Bunny Bubbit, by Maggie Smith

  1. Oh what a great book you’re presenting here! I was mostly raised by my grandmother, who taught me how to sew, darn, knit and crochet. My happiest childhood memories are all about her and me sitting close together, making clothes for my bear. No shop bought toy clothes every came close…or fitted as well. It’s the kisses that make the clothes, not the clothes that maketh the man.

Leave a Reply

