Ollie’s Halloween, by Olivier Dunrea

UnknownLittle goslings love Halloween!  Silly costumes, yummy treats, and a whole mess of hooting, howling, and creeping around the farm make this a great holiday for these baby geese.  They have so much fun together on Halloween.  But little Ollie in his mummy costume may be just a little bit afraid on this spooky evening.  He’ll courageously stalk in the cornfield and bravely boo at the ghost in the barn, but at the end of the night, he might need a little bit of extra comfort.  Good thing goslings are great at sharing their Halloween treats!

Ollie’s Halloween is a super cute little book for little children.  It is a great example of a story where the pictures really tell the story and the words are more of an embellishment.  I think it’s great for young readers, who can begin to create their own narrative because the pictures are so expressive and the story doesn’t box them in.  The illustrations are so adorable- tiny goslings dressed as dragons and chickens, for crying out loud!  My 5 year old loves to identify with the characters in books and movies right now, and this book is perfect for that.  She will always pick a character who she wants to be (usually the prettiest girl or the cutest small animal) and I have a feeling that she will have a hard time choosing between Gossie, Gertie, Peedie, Booboo, and Ollie.  Ollie is my favorite- tiny and fragile and spunky in his mummy suit.

I found this book online at curiousgeorge.com when I was doing a search for Halloween stories.  I’m a little embarrassed to admit it, but I’m so used to seeing Curious George as a TV show, I forgot it was originally a book and it was a real surprise to find books on the website, and not just games and activities about the show.  It was a nice surprise.  True, this website doesn’t have many stories on it.  Right now it just has three of the modern Curious George books (based on the TV show) and this one.  I’m guessing they have seasonal specials published by the same company as Curious George (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), but mostly stories about the little monkey himself.  This is a good website, totally free.  When you click on the story, it automatically starts reading to you and highlighting the words as they are read, with the pages turning automatically.  The recordings are really good quality with some fun sound effects, and you can stop them if you want to read it yourself, but the recording starts again as soon as you click to turn the page.  I don’t like that.  It’s nice to have a function that lets the book read to your child, but when I turn it off, I prefer it to stay off.  Also, I wish there was an option to view the book full screen.  But those are the only two things I would change.  This is a great site- not a ton of options, but free and great quality.

Author/illustrator Olivier Dunrea has a great website here.  Go find out what other awesome books he’s created.

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in Online Books, Picture Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

