Santa Vs. Sharknado, by Kathryn Cunningham

And now, I humbly submit my offering for Susanna Leonard Hill’s Holiday Writing Contest.  Hope you like it!

Santa Vs Sharknado, by Kathryn Cunningham

A flash of light streaked across the velvety Christmas Eve sky.  It was Santa, and he was late.

“Status report!” called Santa to his two helper elves.

“We lost 17 minutes avoiding those cruise ships off the Norwegian coastline,” replied Tinsel, “but we should be able to make it up once we reach New York.”

Radar checked his instrument panel and frowned.  “We’re about halfway across the Atlantic Ocean,” he said, “but we’re heading straight for a major hurricane.  I recommend going around it.”

“Ho, ho, ho!” chuckled Santa.  “And lose another 12 minutes?  Not on your life!  We go through!”

Clouds gathered ominously as they approached the storm.  Santa gripped the reins.  “Here we go!  Hold on tight!”

In a flash, blinding rain and raging wind surrounded them, momentarily blowing the reindeer off course.

“Steer clear of those water spouts!” warned Radar.  “The sled can’t take…..”

Radar broke off suddenly as something big and squishy sounding knocked one of the runners clean off the bottom of the sled.

“Oh no,” murmured Santa, as the air around him filled with huge, writhing bodies.

“SHARKNADO!!!” they all cried.  A pair of jaws flashed and Dasher disappeared from the front of the reindeer team.

“Dasher!” wailed Santa, pulling hard on the reins, narrowly saving Blitzen from another set of deadly jaws.

Two massive sharks landed on the sled.  Tinsel grabbed a baseball bat from Santa’s sack and clubbed them away.

“Good thing Bobby was on the nice list!” she grinned, then hit the ground, unconscious, as another shark thudded onto the sled.

“We’re almost through!” shouted Radar, leaping to protect Tinsel’s crumpled form.  The shark thrashed wildly, razor teeth snapping at his heels!  Suddenly, a pair of antlers rammed the shark off the sled just as they shot through clouds into the calm night sky.

“Oh Dasher, thank goodness!”  Santa sighed as Dasher took his place at the front of the team.  “Well, Radar, message the North Pole and have them send the back up sled to New York, and tell them we need a new bat for Bobby!”

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in My Stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Santa Vs. Sharknado, by Kathryn Cunningham

  1. Glad to know Dasher was okay and Bobby wanted a bat!
    HA!

  2. Okay, I think you might have the best title in the contest! Perfectly silly & very very fun 🙂

  3. Sharknado…awesome! 😀 Love that unique twist to a Christmas story.

  4. Oh my, such creative entries. Sharknado — a storm of sharks. Boys will like this entry. Great ending.

  5. Oooooo, a sharknado! Worse than a hurricane, I imagine. Glad they got through all right.

  6. tinamcho says:

    Very creative–sharks in a Santa story!

  7. jdewdropsofink says:

    Ah man, I wanted Sharknado :). Totally fun. I can see my husband reading this to my kids in between fits of laughter.

  8. lindaboyden says:

    Phew! Dasher came back! Nice twist on the storm theme!

  9. Sharknado will never die will it!?! After 2 movies how perfect to add a Christmas twist–great creativity here!

  10. What a wild and crazy Santa adventure. Super fun!

  11. marlainagray says:

    Hooray for Sharknado!

  12. I’m not familiar with Sharknado, but you’ve certainly got us on the edge of our seats! I’m so glad Dasher is okay. Good luck. 🙂

  13. Clever “twist” on a Christmas story – fun!

  14. Oh wow, Kathryn! That was some story! Talk about wild weather! Santa takes on Sharknado? I’m impressed! 🙂 I was so worried about Dasher – I thought that was going to be a sad, dark turn for a Christmas story! – so good job making me worry 🙂 And I loved the “Status report”, and the name Tinsel, and that perfect last line 🙂 Great job! Thanks so much for joining in the holiday fun!

  15. Oh my goodness, Kathryn…no one had better mess with Santa…that’s all I can say! What a wild ride they had…I’m glad it all turned out well in the end. 🙂 Lots of action…this story could have some awesome illustrations. Great job!

  16. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    Poor Dasher. I would have been OK had he been eaten. Being Santa is tough work, especially when you go through Sharknados! Glad there was a back up sled and a new bat for Bobby. (loved the line about the bat!) Good luck.

  17. Sylvia Liu says:

    Very fun story – glad Dasher made it to help Santa fight Sharknado.

  18. Lynn says:

    oh. my. goodness! My eyes bugged when Dasher disappeared. Whew! Glad he was okay. 🙂 Great story. 🙂

  19. Saranyan says:

    Sharknado :). Would not have thought about that. Really brings home the concept of crazy weather. Nice.

  20. Hilarious story! I loved the sharknado twist and the two elves. Great job!

  21. My kids and I were laughing out loud! Definitely one for the older kids. 🙂

  22. Lauri Meyers says:

    Ha! My idea started with reindeernado, but I veered off course. It’s kind of funny wild weather made us both think of sharknado!

  23. Sharknadoes and Santa – hysterical! Headed straight to video for sure!

Leave a Reply

