A Shoe Family Christmas

It’s that time again, when Susannah Leonard Hill presents her annual Christmas story contest.  Here is my submission.  I hope you enjoy it!

A SHOE FAMILY CHRISTMAS

Rockin’ around the Christmas Tree at the Christmas Holly Hop, all of Mother Goose Land’s citizens were having a very merry time.  Until….. the Shoe family arrived.

You know the family I mean:

There was an old woman who lived in  a shoe.

She had so many children she didn’t know what to do.

The first thing Mother Shoe did when she arrived at the Hop was gulp down five jumbo mugs of eggnog and fall asleep.  As for the Shoe children, well…..

Billy and Tilly Shoe dashed to the dessert table, devouring every last one of Mrs. Horner’s Christmas pies and knocking over the punch bowl. It splashed onto Little Miss Muffet, who screamed and leaped off her tuffet.  Jack and Jill ran to help, but slipped on the punch.  Jack fell down and broke his crown and…. well, you know the rest.

In the confusion, Bella and Stella Shoe grabbed Little Boy Blue’s horn and gleefully trumpeted their way through the crowd. Suddenly, Little Bo Peep’s entire herd of sheep thundered into the room, chased by Old Mother Hubbard’s dog.  Harry and Larry Shoe had let them in, and they shrieked with laughter at the woolly tornado.  Their laughter stopped when the sheep barreled into the enormous Christmas tree. It came crashing down, smashing ornaments and burying guests in an itchy, pine-scented heap.

The Shoe children considered the mob of mad, messy, mangled party guests and wondered if they should abandon their snoozing mother and run for it.  But little Mary Shoe stepped forward, scooped up the smallest of Peep’s exhausted sheep, and began singing.

“Away in a manger, no crib for a bed, the little Lord Jesus lay down his sweet head….”

Exchanging glances, the Shoe children started cleaning up, caroling along with their baby sister.  Gradually, everyone else smiled, shrugged, and joined in.  They all worked and sang until the room sparkled with cleanliness and goodwill.

That memorable evening came to be known as the Shoe Family Holly Hop, and everyone in Mother Goose Land agreed that it was the best Christmas party ever.

About childrensbooksonadime

I am mother to three spectacular daughters and wife to an amazing husband who is a disabled Army veteran. As a military wife for 7 years, I enjoyed traveling the world, and now that we are civilians again, I am excited to see where life will take us as my husband gets his MA and begins a new career. I love to read with my girls and on my own, sing, play & teach piano, and write children's stories. My blog is reviews of children's books I can find for under dollar and my goal is to start posting my own stories as soon as I get 100 followers. They're pretty great, so you should help me along by following. My dream is to see one of my stories published in a large and lovely picture book that will inspire the hearts and minds of the rising generation.
This entry was posted in My Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Shoe Family Christmas

  1. I really enjoyed your story, Kathryn! May Santa deliver your dream of being published this year! And may he stop at my house with the same delivery 🙂

  2. Nancy Tandon says:

    I’m with Mama Shoe!

  3. Love the family story. All’s well that ends well! 😀

  4. I love how you combined so many Mother Goose characters into one community party. Good job 🙂

  5. What a fun story. You had me at … the old woman. Good luck with this wonderful entry.

  6. JEN Garrett says:

    Best. Christmas. Party. Ever.

  7. Heather says:

    This is SO fun! I wish I could hold this one in my hands and look at the pictures. I bet they’d be fantastic!

  8. Gregory E Bray says:

    Very funny. Great job with this one. I sense a winner.

  9. Gabi Snyder says:

    Fun nursery rhyme holiday mash-up!

  10. Janet Smart says:

    That was a star spangled hop filled with all our favorites!

  11. Oh my goodness! What a wild rumpus! Love the line “woolly tornado”! 🙂 Happy Holidays, Kathryn, and thanks so much for joining in the contest fun!

Leave a Reply

